Dragino LPS8N with MQTT Forwarder uses wrong downlink frequency

I’m a Chirpstack newb.

I have set up a Dragino LPS8N with MQTT Forwarder following these instructions and the communication between the gateway and Chirpstack LNS seems good.

However when I attempt to join a node, I the Join Request looks good but the Join Accept seems to be going out on the wrong frequency.

Dragino LPS8N Gateway Traffic Log:

MQTT packet for the Join Accept:

{
  "downlinkId": 4065950452,
  "items": [
    {
      "phyPayload": "IJiXIWLlR2aeLPZfLljYMgump5xTCfaqvNYXvTu1woCl",
      "txInfo": {
        "frequency": 923300000,
        "power": 21,
        "modulation": {
          "lora": {
            "bandwidth": 500000,
            "spreadingFactor": 10,
            "codeRate": "CR_4_5",
            "polarizationInversion": true
          }
        },
        "timing": {
          "delay": {
            "delay": "5s"
          }
        },
        "context": "u2x2AA=="
      }
    },
    {
      "phyPayload": "IJiXIWLlR2aeLPZfLljYMgump5xTCfaqvNYXvTu1woCl",
      "txInfo": {
        "power": 21,
        "modulation": {
          "lora": {
            "bandwidth": 500000,
            "spreadingFactor": 12,
            "codeRate": "CR_4_5",
            "polarizationInversion": true
          }
        },
        "timing": {
          "delay": {
            "delay": "6s"
          }
        },
        "context": "u2x2AA=="
      }
    }
  ],
  "gatewayId": "a84041ffff27d338"
}

The MQTT packet looks to be specifying a reasonable frequency (923.3Mhz) but the Dragino reports 268.435536Mhz (!!!).

How can I troubleshoot this further? I assume my issue is either in the MQTT Forwarder running on the gateway, or with the gateway itself.

I’ve never used the MQTT forwarder before, but are you using the correct MQTT topic prefix for your region?

Its in the chirpstack-mqtt-forwarder.toml file and should be set to the same band your gateway is configured to listen to.