How to get data from a sensor?

I deployed a server. But I can’t figure out what to do to get data from the sensor. There is a socket, there are api methods.Using the method GET [/api/devices/{dev_eui}
I am not getting data. What do i do? I’m new to this business. I am writing in python.

1 Like

Did you install latest Chirpstack (or I can’t help)? Did you add at least 1 gateway? Did you create at least 1 application and then added at least 1 sensor? These are prerequisites to get any data, unless you’re running simulation (I can’t help with that).

Under application, are any sensors showing “last seen” that isn’t “n/a”? If so, click on device name and then look at “lorawan frames” tab - any JoinRequest & JoinAccept followed by “DataDown”?

If yes, switch to “device data” and then you can see are using off-the-shelf sensors, why bother?

I create device profiles for my sensors and paste in decoder function under CODEC tab.

Then, when new devices are created with this profile, the data is decoded for me.

You can find codecs for sensors from vendor’s support pages or from projects. Example.

What you described are the live data packages you can see in the application.
The question seem to be how is it possible to access the data stored in the PostgreSQL database Table “device_up” where in the column “object” the decoded JSON data is stored) via the ChirpStack API.

That is actually the same issue I’m currently facing.
I would like to access this information as well and I need to be able to specify a time interval to access the data.
Give me all the received data for device_eui = XXX between TIMESTAMP_A and TIMESTAMP_B.
I also need to be able to get the data for a device_eui like “return the last 10 packages received before NOW or before TIMESTAMP_X”.

Is this possible? Pointing to the API would be great as I’m lost here as well.