Oidc not working with Azure AD

Hi,

I am trying to get SSO implemented with Azure AD connecting to Open ID Connect in ChirpStack, but it doesn’t seem to be working. I hit a loop where we get the error below.

Just for the sake of asking, do users already have to be in the user table before SSO will work?
I also have the ‘registration’ config variable set to true, so this shouldn’t be an issue unless the functionality is bugged.

Can anyone provide a sanitized example of how these fields would be populated, particularly the Email field? I am using the docker images at log level info, but it isn’t giving significantly helpful logs, debug didn’t give anything helpful either unfortunately. Getting a sample for this would be very helpful for my investigation, thanks.

Thanks in advance for any help anyone can give.

Would really appreciate if anyone could provide a hand on this?

I have no experience with Azure AD, but is the returned email_verified field set to true in the OIDC claims? I believe that is what the error is about.

1 Like

Hi Orne,

We were thinking that may be part of the issue, but were having trouble modifying the code to debug. Is there any way to turn off the dependency on email_verified or is that fully integrated into the code, as I see the implementation of Azure AD I have to communicate with doesn’t have email_verified as a usual field.

There is no worry if this is not easily doable, I am just trying to get as many options as possible.

Thanks for the response regardless!

@brocaar Hi Orne,

While it might not be feasible, would there be some possibility of making the email_verified field optional? I have seen in OIDC docs that it is an optional claim.

It would be great if this could be supplied as env variable through conf. Default value we can supply ourselves, otherwise if exists in OIDC token, pull that value.

This might obviously not be an improvement, so just a suggestion.

Thanks