Problem sending MAC-Commands with gRPC

Greetings,

I am currently trying to experiment with my LoRa Sensor by sending different MAC-Commands to change parameters for various purposes. However, I have not been able to send a single MAC-Command due to my limited knowledge on how this works. It is my first time doing this and I’m slighty overwhelmed. This is the code so far:

import os
import sys

import grpc
from chirpstack_api import api

# Configuration.

# This must point to the API interface.
server = "..."

# The DevEUI for which you want to enqueue the downlink.
dev_eui = "..."

# The API token (retrieved using the web-interface).
api_token = "..."

if __name__ == "__main__":
  # Connect without using TLS.
  channel = grpc.insecure_channel(server)

# Device-queue API client.
  client = api.DeviceServiceStub(channel)

# Define the API key meta-data.
  auth_token = [("authorization", "Bearer %s" % api_token)]

# Construct request.
  req = api.EnqueueDeviceQueueItemRequest()
  req.queue_item.confirmed = False
  req.queue_item.data = bytes([0x06])
  req.queue_item.dev_eui = dev_eui
  req.queue_item.f_port = 255

resp = client.Enqueue(req, metadata=auth_token)

# Print the downlink id
  print(resp.id)

This will send a downlink to my device, but instead of it being an actual MAC-Command, it’s just “06” inside the payload, not DevStatusReq as intended. I understand that I need to work with the CID, but I was not able to get it done. I also don’t understand how I would input the data needed to change, for example, the duty cycle per MAC-Command.

I have been on this problem for a while and I just can’t seem to get it right. Thanks in advance for anyone trying to help.

I think you want to send downlinks to configure your nodes. Not MAC commands.

MAC commands are seldom used by end-users. They are for LoRaWAN internal use

Hey,